Discworld: The Truth


The Truth (Methuen Drama)

I’m also reading (for the second time) Terry Pratchett’s 25th Discworld novel “The Truth”.

While I do always enjoy a Discworld novel, Pratchett is certainly the most amusing writer in fantasy today, I find them starting to pall a little. I wonder if Pratchett now feels the same way, it seem to me that the end of the novel feels rushed and they seem more formulaic in “The Truth” is the unknowing attitude of deWorde to S. just a little too similar to Corporal Carrot and Angua, for example.

Let me again say that I still enjoy them, I’m not saying they are not funny and well written novels. I just feel that perhaps 25 Discworld novels may well be reaching the end of Pratchett’s interest in the series and that it is time for him to move on. The tragedy may well be that the many fans of the series will not let him, not be as accepting of his writing quirks of he tries to depart into new fields.

2 thoughts on “Discworld: The Truth

  1. ‘The Truth’ seems to be the only Terry Pratchett book I haven’t read yet. I discovered ‘The Colour of Magic’ in a second hand bookshop somewhere and haven’t looked back since. I have a bit of a discworld binge now and agaIn. I’m sure that you know by now that Pratchett has Alzheimers. Perhaps it’s why that book isn’t as good. I’m going to hunt it up and decide for myself.

    • I recently read it again and enjoyed it more. I think you can read too many Discworld novels in too short a time as there are a lot of similarities across them and the jokes start to feel tired, but that may be the reader not the novel.

Leave a Reply

