Audience of One


Today’s Daily Prompt was “Picture the one person in the world you really wish were reading your blog. Write her or him a letter.”

So the question is who. Who is the “one person”? There are the obvious candidates. Either of my late parents, my late paternal grandfather or a number of ex-girlfriends (either in anger or enquiry).

Then there are the people who might actually read this. My daughter and a number of close friends.

There is the audience I would like for this blog. Due to my split nature that falls into two camps, people interested in Macintosh computers and other devices made by Apple and those interested in art, politics and culture.

Who to write for?

The person I have the most to say to is my daughter, Jessica. Those words though need to be said in person and privately not here in the public realm.

For the same reason I’m not going to write the words I would like to say to those that have died, my mother and father.

I’m not going to write a letter to my typical reader, I have so few regular readers that I don’t think there is such a thing as typical.

So I’m going to write a letter to the person who reads every word written here, myself.

Dear Tony,
Today is another day that will unfold in front of you in a way that you cannot exactly predict. There will be moments of pain and sadness but may well be moments of fun and pleasure.

Be warmed that there is more in your life today than just depression. There are people; a few, a happy few; that love you and care that you still walk this world.

Remember that you are not defined by this moment and how you feel right now, you have known love and happiness and will do so again.

Take care of yourself as well as you can and do as much as you can, do not beat yourself up for not achieving the impossible.

Continue to love and live and write.

Always yours,
Tony

7 thoughts on “Audience of One

  1. Tony,

    Your letter to yourself touched my heart. I pray that today is a better day for you, and that the Lord will comfort your pain. I know what it’s like to battle those dark forces that would like to steal your joy and define who you are, and I am praying against them for you.

    Also, although your post was sad, it was beautifully written.

    God bless you,
    Cheryl

  2. Pingback: Musings: On Peace… | Mirth and Motivation

  3. Pingback: Dear you, Dear Saviour | Everyday Adventures

  4. Tony! Hang in there! Get outside and get some exercise to boost your endorphins. Do more of what you really love. Keep sharing your stories so you can help others too! Let your light shine.

Leave a Reply

