Slash and Burn


(c) Alexis Tejeda

(c) Alexis Tejeda

Today’s Daily Prompt: Write 500 words on any topic you like. Now remove 250 of them without changing the essence of your post.

When you’re in a bad mood, who or what makes you feel better? A Daily Prompt from a week or so ago.

Lifting my mood can be a difficult thing. You see I suffer from depression.

The best way is to silence the negative thoughts. If my befuddled brain gets no other input I spend my time listening to the voice inside my head that tells me what a failure I am and rehashes my past. I can end up feeling a total failure, unloved and unloveable.

To silence those thoughts I need high quality input. Reading a good book, but good TV or a good movie can work as well.

Getting out of the house helps. Riding my pushbike or motor scooter. Sitting in a coffee shop with a double macchiato.

The other thing that can replace the silence is intellectual work. My job or writing. Writing can be ideal as I take whatever is coursing through my head and turn it into words.

The problem with that is when the depression gets particularly bad the first thing to suffer can be my writing.

Writing should come easy. For all the joy I get it can be hard. Sometimes you sit at the keyboard and the words **do** come easy but sometimes nothing comes and when it does come it’s hard and ugly and nothing as you want.

Reading and writing and TV. Those are the things that lift my mood.

2 thoughts on “Slash and Burn

Leave a Reply

