Ding, Dong


George Harrison. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

George Harrison. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Todays Daily Prompt was “Pause whatever you’re doing, and ask the person nearest you what they’re thinking about (call someone if you have to). Write a post based on it.”

Since I’m home alone at the moment and in Australia the hour is incredibly late I couldn’t quite perform the task. Instead I posted to Facebook, “Quickly, I need someone to post a comment telling me what they are thinking right now.”

One of my friends, by coincidence another writer who suffers from insomnia, almost immediately replied “I’m thinking I’d better post a comment telling you what I’m thinking right now.”

That’s a pretty good reply. When asked “What are you thinking?” quite a lot of people would immediately think about the question. If they are next to you on the couch the first thought might be “Why are they asking?” If it was me sitting on the couch next to a partner my first thought would probably be “Oh, oh, don’t get this wrong” but I’m often overly anxious.

Let’s get back to the task. My friend Matthew then told me that due to the fact that the hashtag #DingDong was trending on Twitter he was thinking of the George Harrison earworm of a song “Ding Dong”, particularly the lyric “Ring out the old, ring in the new; \ Ring out the false, ring in the true.”

Why was that hashtag trending? It’s a campaign to get people to buy “Ding Dong The Witch Is Dead” on iTunes to celebrate the death of Margaret Thatcher. The campaign has been so successful that it has reached #1 on the UK iTunes list. The BBC has refused to play the entire song as part of their music chart show. Quite a fuss is now on as a result.

When you look at the lyrics of the George Harrison song that Matthew was thinking about they might actually be a much more polite way of celebrating Maggie’s passing. After all, even if you disagree vehemently with her politics and methods (as I do), referring to her as a witch is not only rude but brings her gender to the fore in quite a negative, sexist way. Inferring that she is “the old” and “the false” has to me more truth and fairness than “witch”.

4 thoughts on “Ding, Dong

  1. I believe there is a counter group pushing another song “I love Maggie” or some such… what a funny old world we live in that someone’s death can start up a ‘Battle of the bands’ contest 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: She Said | My Atheist Blog

Leave a Reply

