Half Empty


Is the glass half full or is the glass half empty?

Is the glass half full or is the glass half empty? (Photo credit: Pimlico Badger)

 

Today’s Daily Prompt is “Is the glass half-full, or half-empty?”

This always seems to be a question of optimism against pessimism. A question of seeing what you have against what you don’t have.

If I sum it up that way then I am a half-empty sort of person.

I suffer from depression, bad chronic depression, and one of the symptoms is an ingrained pessimism. I can’t see anything positive in the future and I can’t see the pain going away. At the same time I am beset with a sense of failure in that, according to my inner thoughts, there is little positive in my life situation.

That’s really where depression gets you. Some seem to think that depression is just an extreme form of feeling sad but that’s not where it hits you. Sure, you feel sad, you feel really sad. I can cope with sad, I’m really good at coping with sad. The hard part is to try and be at least a little positive and get things done when there’s a part of you that sees yourself as an unappealing failure incapable of achievement. When the black dog is barking in your ear it’s hard to hear anything else.

In the face of that I’ve become a glass half-empty guy. I try very hard to think it’s half full and at times in my life I’ve been there but it never sticks.

10 thoughts on “Half Empty

  1. I know how hard it is to see anything good in things when depression is trying to get you down…I have been suffering from depression and other mental illnesses for about 9 years now and I never thought it would get easier….I never thought I could be happy again…but now I am, most of the time and I still can’t believe it 🙂
    So I’m really convinced that things will get better for you as well. Some time the glass will be half-full for you 🙂

    xoxo

  2. Pingback: I Think This is Piss | Stuphblog

  3. Pingback: What Through The Glass Now? | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Glass | On My Front Porch

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Glass | Echoes and Whispers

  6. Pingback: It Depends What’s In The Glass (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Mine is half-full and I wish you the same | Daily Prompt: The Glass | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  8. Pingback: The Glass Is Half Empty | The Sexy Cynic

Leave a Reply

