Drawn To Art


upright

Pieta (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today’s Daily Prompt: “Is there a painting or sculpture you’re drawn to? What does it say to you? Describe the experience. (Or, if art doesn’t speak to you, tell us why.)”

I feel that everyone is drawn to art of some type. If you don’t think you are then you just haven’t found your sort of art. Of course I have a broad definition of what art is. I include theatre, opera, ballet, modern dance, musical theatre, film and television, street art and photography. If we narrow the definition down to painting or sculpture then it might be possible that there exists someone who isn’t attracted to any of it. I doubt it, but it might be possible.

I’m drawn to a piece of art for many reasons. I just wrote a post about my depression and Zematas suggested a number of images. I was immediately drawn to a Van Gogh painting “At Eternity’s Gate”. Not only was it so obviously a Van Gogh but the tone of the painting matched the tone of the post and the image seemed to me to echo my depression. The painting spoke to me. That’s why you see it at the top of the post.

I’ve also been drawn to a piece of art for other reasons. At the Vatican I was drawn to Michelangelo’s Pieta for it’s beauty and the magnificence of the execution. At Sydney’s Museum of Contemporary Art I was drawn to the works of Anish Kapoor because of the way his sculptures played with my sense of sight and made me question reality.

Then there is the art that seems to speak to my soul. The Van Gogh was like that, the moment I saw it I thought that it had been painted to reflect back to me what is inside me and to tell me the painter knew what it was like.

If you haven’t found art that speaks to you then I beseech you to get yourself to a great art gallery, open your mind and your soul and explore. Don’t buy a book, don’t take a tour and don’t get one of those audio guides. Just walk and look at the art with your own taste, your own prejudices and your own desire and I’m sure something will suddenly ring inside you and you’ll have found art that speaks to you.

10 thoughts on “Drawn To Art

  1. Pingback: Is It Bad To Think Too Much? | Joseph Rathjen - Freelance Writing

  2. Pingback: Art, bless her soul | I Didn't Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving

  3. Pingback: The Artist’s Eye: La Petite Danseuse de Quatorze Ans | Khana's Web

  4. Pingback: Goya and Velázquez in my delirium | Vivir, que no es poco

  5. Pingback: What Art Did For Hank (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  6. I enjoyed reading your thoughts about art as well as seeing the Pieta. I agree that “art” is a much wider field that the way it’s often defined and everyone loves some sort of art.

    janet

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt, The Artists Eye… | EW Brown

  8. Pingback: NEVER GROW UP | hastywords

  9. Pingback: Famine | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a comment