Walking The Precipice


Front quarter view of the notorious winged kee...

Front quarter view of the notorious winged keel fitted to the winner of the 1983 Americas Cup, Australia II. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today’s Daily Prompt asks “We all have things as need to do to keep an even keel — blogging, exercising, reading, cooking. What’s yours?”

An even keel is a rare thing for me, I usually settle for moving forward and not taking on water. Writing is one o the things that keeps the keel in the water. Music is another. Tonight Jessica is taking a run through the 85,000 or so tracks in my iTunes library playing some of my soul and R&B collection so Marvin Gaye, Aretha Franklin, Otis Redding and a bunch of others are blasting away.

To that I’d add reading but the two biggest things in my life that keep water flowing under the bow and that keel wet are two brilliant women. Strong women have always been important in my life.

My mother, now dead, was a woman who was both strong and one capable of asking for help. She can’t help but come to mind as I sit here listening to Al Green sing “Lean On Me”. A song that sums her up so well I played it at her funeral. As much as my relationship with her for the nine years we lived together after my father died was tempestuous there was something about her love and strength that kept me going through some dark times.

It was at the same time that I came to lean on my local doctor. Sheila is an amazing GP with an understanding and compassion that are increasingly rare in the medical profession. It was Sheila that got me through my first bout of major depression by getting me to focus on who I would hurt if I let myself succumb to the demons.

Now that I am going through another bout she is stil one of the people keeping me going. It’s important to have someone strong and capable when it comes to such things as trying the various cocktails of medication available that attempt to treat major depression. She also provided a shoulder and an ear before I found an analyst.

Then there is Jessica. I have to say that I don’t know how her mother and I managed it but she is a strong, intelligent and capable young woman. Just having her around the house is good, she provides an excuse to cook more often and more healthy, she is someone to just say hello to in the morning and goodnight to last thing. She also understands my need to yell at the teacher on “Dance Moms” or spend all of Monday night watching current affairs on the ABC.

Then she does things that surprise me and are make me happy. Tonight’s a great example. After we finished watching “The Sapphires” (a great feel good movie with some great music) she said “soul night” and I set her up playing iTunes through the good stereo and she started playing all her favourites from the 60s. Just the thing to get us both singing and tapping our feet.

I think people are the most important thing to keep you on an “even keel”.

8 thoughts on “Walking The Precipice

  1. Pingback: Even Keel? What’s that? Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: On the Edge | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: On the Edge | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: On the edge? Teetering on the brink! | Life & Times

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: On edge, what do you do? Usually, I jump off! | jennifermarshcurtis

  6. Pingback: RAMBLING POST | hastywords

  7. Pingback: On the Edge of Yoga | The Silver Leaf Journal

Leave a Reply

