Not Really Laughing


Monty_python_foot

Today’s Daily Prompt is “Do you consider yourself funny? What role does humor play in your life? Who’s the funniest person you know?”

Am I funny? What role does humour play in my life? No, not much.

As I’ve mentioned I suffer from major depression. One of the defining symptoms of major depression is anhedonia, which can be quickly defined as ’an inability to feel pleasure, particularly from activities usually found enjoyable. Combined with the anxiety and self-loathing typical of all depression this makes it hard to find humour in what most would find funny.

I usually love good humour. On my shelves you will find several Monty Python movies, the complete set of Fawlty Towers and a bunch of other comedies. Humour used to play a large part of my life. A couple of night ago I was watching an episode of Fawlty Towers and while I still enjoyed it the humour had left me.

I also feel the same about books at the moment. Usually Terry Pratchett or Douglas Adams would have me giggling but at the moment they somehow leave me cold. I can still read them but the pleasure at the humour is not there.

I miss it. It would make a depressed life so much easier if I could laugh more. When you suffer from major depression you lose so much of an ordinary life and one that I miss almost constantly is a good laugh.

15 thoughts on “Not Really Laughing

  1. Pingback: That’s a Fly Swatter, Not a Spatula | So I Went Undercover

  2. Pingback: Am I really all that funny? | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Make Your Own Damn Sandwich | Molly Greye

  4. Pingback: Laughing at Me | Natasha's Memory Garden

  5. Pingback: Anhedonia – A Loss Of Pleasure | Tony's Texts

Leave a Reply

