One Tiny Change


English: Johnny Depp in Cannes in the nineties.

Johnny Depp in Cannes in the nineties. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today’s Daily Prompt: “For a moment today, time stands still — but you can tweak one thing while it’s stopped. What do you do?”

A myriad of possibilities open up. From the almost infinitesimal to the huge. I think about the day I had today and what changes I might make.

There are, of course, the fantasies:
– Make me as rich as Rupert Murdoch
– Make me as handsome as George Clooney
– Make me as sexy as Johnny Depp

Then there are a few philanthropic ones:
– Reverse the Federal election results
– Give the illiterate Aussies the ability to read
– Trash all the poker machines in Australia
– Abolish nine out of ten liquor licenses in Kings Cross and the Sydney CBD

They all have their appeal. Are they really the “one thing”? “Tweak” implies a small change not a huge bunch of wholesale changes so it doesn’t allow us ot go for the really big ones, the almost impossible, such as
– Make cancer disappear
– Make poverty disappear
– Fix TV so there’s always something worth watching
– Give the Liberal/National Party Coalition a heart

Then there’s the elephant in the room. The one I’m not talking about. The big one. “I am wounded with knife, sting, and tooth, and a long burden. Where shall I find rest?,” as Bilbo asked Gandalf.

So while time is stopped, all motion ceased, reactions halted I reach inside my bruised and battered brain and tweak those hormones and proteins and structures and erase a little, adjust a little and cure my fevered mind. Major Depression gone.

It would be nice if it was that easy. That’s not really a “tweak” is it? That’s a big change. It’s a lot of tweaks all together.

Small changes, minor adjustments or tiny alterations just isn’t going to do it. If I can’t have the one change that will actually effect some change in my life, some change in my future and make tomorrow even a little less lonely and painful then you can keep your “tweak”. Nothing, thanks.

9 thoughts on “One Tiny Change

  1. I’ve been mulling over what I would tweak so I could write my own daily post (still not done) and thought about almost all of the things you listed in the first part of your post. Then I came to the part about depression. If I could tweak one thing today, it would be to magically lift my daughter’s depression, take that burden from her. I’ve been there myself. What seems to be helping for her is volunteering and participating in interest groups (meetup.com lists groups all over the world). She’s not as isolated and not as self-focused. She still has bad days. Lots of them. But the clouds aren’t as dark as they have been for the past two years.

    Thank you for sharing your pain today. It reminded me that we are not alone in our quiet struggle.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Standstill | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Time Is Just An Illusion! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  4. Pingback: When Time Stopped #microfiction #amwriting | Moondustwriter's Blog

  5. Pingback: Stillness | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: Could I really function in split time? | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: When Time Stands Still, I’m Trumping Trump | The Arkside of Thought

  8. Pingback: Rocket to space | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Can’t Stop This | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

