Polo Shirt And Chinos


A Lacoste tennis shirt, from the 2006 spring c...

A Lacoste tennis shirt, from the 2006 spring collection (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today’s Daily Prompt: “How important are clothes to you? Describe your style, if you have one, and tell us how appearance impacts how you feel about yourself.”

When I was in High School I went to two alternative schools and had a reputation at both schools for wearing “out there” clothes. They weren’t too strange but they certainly were outside the normal. One summer I wore a boubou my Dad brought back from Africa to school for a month, it was great colours, striped in earthy oranges and browns. A friend’s parents brought back from the US a pair of 1800s bib and brace train engineer’s overalls and matching hat that got worn to school as well.

In my final year my girlfriend was talking to a friend who had come to out school to pick her up and apparently said “That’s Tony over there. They guy in the clothes.” I’m not sure what I was wearing that day.

The funny thing was that I didn’t spend a lot of time thinking about clothes, choosing what to wear or shopping. Part of it I think was that I kept an eye out for the unusual. For example, I had a collection of vests and suit jackets I’d found in op shops and at Paddington markets that got worn quite a lot.

Then something happened. When I was in my early thirties, I think it was when I was working at Australian Macworld, I started wearing polo shirts (I prepfer the ones with a pocket) and jeans almost all the time and that look has stuck. These days I’m just as likely to wear chinos as jeans but the polo shirt has stayed the same. It’s what I wear of a weekend and it’s usually what I wear to work.

One exception to that is when I’m going out. I might still wear the chinos but I have a bunch of really nice shirts (including a couple of silk ones) that I wear when I want to look my best. I do enjoy putting my glad rags on and going to the theatre or out to a nice restaurant with the woman I love, or I did when there was one in my life.

The other exception is when I go to Mad Racket, the dance parties that are thrown by my friend Andy. For Mad Racket I go to a great deal of trouble to find an interesting T-shirt to wear, most of them bought online from the US.

So clothes don’t play a large part in my life nowadays. They never really have, though I did enjoy wearing interesting stuff when I was younger. Now they are almost entirely functional in my life. My appearance is one of the few things that has no impact on how I feel about myself.

11 thoughts on “Polo Shirt And Chinos

  1. Pingback: Princesses and Docs | Kick-Ass Ireland!

Leave a Reply

