A Cornucopia of Sounds


I Heard It Through the Grapevine

I Heard It Through the Grapevine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today’s Daily Prompt: “You make a new friend. Make them a mix tape (or playlist, for the younger folks) that tells them who you are through song.”

To discover who I am through music I think it would be germane to go back and listen to a few songs from my younger days before hearing some songs that sum up who I am today.

We should start with three tracks that were played and played when I was quite young. The first is from an album that I thought was Petula Clark or Julie Andrews but I can’t find it in the discography of either. It was an LP of children’s songs on thick plastic and the track I remember best is ‘Teddy Bear’s Picnic’ – “If you go down to the woods today you’re in for a big surprise”. The other record I remember vividly was an LP with Prokofiev’s ‘Peter and The Wolf’ on one side and Saint-Saëns ‘Carnival of the Animals’ on the other. I particularly loved Peter and The Wolf.

There was also a song my mother used to play a lot which was a mother singing with her small daughter. I can’t now remember the song or the artist but it was a song of love. I’d like to add that to the list, I’ll try hard to remember it over the next few days. That song would define both the closeness of my mother and I back in my early years but the closeness I now have with my own daughter.

If I had to come up with a song that defined my teen years it might have to be The Sex Pistols hit ‘Anarchy In The UK’ though I’d like to add the 801 live version of ‘You Really Got Me’ both for the song itself and that I first heard it on Double Jay, the radio station that shaped the music of those years for me.

The adult Tony is going to be playing a lot of R&B, Soul and Funk. Let’s start off with Marvin Gaye singing ‘I Heard It Through The Grapevine’ not for any meaning in the song but because I love it so much. I know every chord, every note of that most marvellous track.

I’m such a romantic, when I love I love strongly and deeply, I give my all. So how about we have another track that feature’s Marvin. This time it’s his duet with Tammi Terrel ‘Ain’t No Mountain High Enough’.

To that I’d have to add two love songs from the greatest women in soul. Aretha Franklin with ‘I Say A Little Prayer’ and Dusty Springfield with ‘I Only Want To Be With You’.

I’ve also been hurt more than once by women I’ve loved. The myth is that Percy Sledge wrote the lyrics to ‘When A Man Loves A Woman’ in extremely short order after being dumped on and went on stage instructing his band to give him a blues rhythm and “just follow along”. The simple, descending chord progression is indeed simple, it’s also common and can be found in Pachalbel’s Canon and Bach’s Air on the G String for example, but the story isn’t true.

I’ll also add Brenda Holloway’s ‘Every Little Bit Hurts’ and Dionne Warwick’s ‘Always Something There To Remind Me’. Before we leave the pain of broken love lets hear ‘Someone Like You’ from Adele.

I’ve known and needed some great friends through my life. I’ve also been a good friend to some. For that I’d add ‘Stand By Me’ by Ben E. King and ‘Lean On Me’ by Bill Withers.

Now to throw in some random tracks that I love and say a bit about me.
– ‘Addicted To Bass’ by PureTones.
– ‘About Noon’ by the Mar-Keys.
– ‘Green Onion’ by Booker-T & The MGs.
– ‘Ain’t To Proud To Beg’ by The Temptations
– ‘I Can’t Help Myself’ by The Four Tops
– ‘Midnight Train To Georgia’ by Gladys Knight and The Pips
– ‘With Or Without You’ by U2 (Brian Eno’s production at it’s best)
– ‘Paradise’ by Coldplay (Brian producing a great again)

Here’s a few that I enjoy drumming with.
– ‘TNT’ by AC/DC
– ‘Ticket To Ride’ by The Beatles
– ‘Highway To Hell’ by AC/DC

4 thoughts on “A Cornucopia of Sounds

  1. Pingback: DailyPrompt: my heart to you | viver para contar

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mix Tape Masterpiece | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Do we have a music memory? | Processing the life

  4. Pingback: My 8 Track | My Days In A Song

Leave a Reply

